Many Firsts

In the past two weeks, I have experienced two very different types of celebrations. One of these events were to celebrate a union of a man and woman, and the other was the celebration of a life that once was and now was gone.

My First Wedding

I was so excited to go to a wedding. Being eighteen years old, you would think I had gone to a wedding before, but this was the first one I have ever attended. The moment I got there, I knew I would love it more then anything. And I did. There was so much love in one place, so many beautiful people expressing their feelings, and so much happiness filled the air. It felt as if I were in a movie itself. Going to this wedding made me excited for my own wedding in the far future.

After being to a wedding, you’d think all is right in the world. Seeing two beautiful people want to spend the rest of their life together because they loved each other could make everyone feel as though they were in love themselves.

All is well in the world, until it’s not.

My First Funeral

It truly didn’t hit me that my friend was gone forever until I walked into the building for the service. He was only nineteen years old, we were the class of 2016 together, and he was on his way to college. How am I supposed to react when someone texts me out of the blue and says “Hey, did you hear he died”? Of course I didn’t hear he died, because he couldn’t have! He is only nineteen! We go to church together!

How am I supposed to react when multiple people are texting me and saying “His death was an accident, he’s gone”. Shock. Disbelief. You don’t know how to react. Is this real? A week passes by and nothing. You continue to go to classes, see friends, and watch movies. Then you attend the service.

Yesterday, August 28th 2016, I attended my first funeral. Yesterday, everything became clear. Yesterday, I realized he was gone.

I believe it’s okay to grieve for the ones you’ve lost. It’s also okay to celebrate the time you had with them. You’ll wish you had more time with them, that you hugged them a little longer then you had, and you’ll wish they were sitting next to you right now. And that’s okay.

These two extremely different events made me realize that life is way to short. Always make sure you know you’re loved and the ones around you are loved. You never know how long you have on Earth, so you need to make your seconds, minutes, hours, days, months, and years count.

Don’t worry about the past and don’t worry about the future. Worry about the NOW.

Congratulations to the beautiful wedded husband and wife.

and

Congratulations to God for getting a beautiful young man who has entered heaven. You’ll be missed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

